This is the "Home" page of the "Annotated Bibliographies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Annotated Bibliographies  

Last Updated: Jan 28, 2016 URL: http://libguides.williamwoods.edu/content.php?pid=692246 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is an Annotated Bibliography?

An Annotated Bibliography is a list of citations to books, articles, and documents. Each citation is followed by a brief (usually about 150 words) descriptive and evaluative paragraph, the annotation. The purpose of the annotation is to inform the reader of the relevance, accuracy, and quality of the sources cited.

In English, this means you are creating a paragraph that others may read to get a general idea of what your sources are about. The hardest part is being concise with your information. Annotations take practice but once you get the hang of it they are easy. Here are the steps to follow:

A: Talk about the author. (1 sentence)
Is this a professor? Maybe this is a professional in the field? Or is this person a hobbyist? Tell the audience about the author in the first part of the annotation.
 
B: Explain what the article is about. (1-3 sentences)
Tell the audience what is in the article. This is the most difficult part of the annotation because it requires you to be very succinct. Don’t rewrite the article; just write the base facts and important notes about the article here.
 
C: Explain how this article illuminates your bibliography topic. (1-2 sentences)
What about this article makes it relevant to your topic? Why did you select it? What pertinent bit of information makes this article stand out among the others?
 
D: Compare or contrast this work with another you have cited. (1-2 sentences)
How does this specific article relate to another article in your annotated bibliography? Do they agree or not? Why not? What makes them unique?

Other Useful Sources

  • How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography
    Provides explanations about and examples of writing annotated bibliographies. Written by Michael Engle, Amy Blumenthal, and Tony Cosgrave from Olin Library Reference, Research & Learning Services, Cornell University Library, Ithaca, NY, USA.
  • Annotated Bibliographies | The Writing Lab & The OWL at Purdue
    Provides definitions about, reasons for, and formats of annotated bibliographies. Written by Dana Bisignani and Allen Brizee from The Writing Lab & The OWL at Purdue, Purdue University.
  • Annotated Bibliographies | University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
    "This handout will explain why annotated bibliographies are useful for researchers, provide an explanation of what constitutes an annotation, describe various types of annotations and styles for writing them, and offer multiple examples of annotated bibliographies in the MLA, APA, and CBE/CSE styles of citation." From The Writing Center, the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
  • Preparing an Annotated Bibliography
    "This handout is designed to show you how to create an annotated bibliography. Specifically, it will guide you through the process ... by 1. describing in general terms the meaning of the words “annotated bibliography,” 2. explaining in general terms how to write an annotated bibliography, and 3. offering an example of what an annotated bibliography could look like." From School of Liberal Arts and University Writing Center, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis.
 

Annotation Worksheet

This worksheet can be printed out and used to help you as you create your annotations.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip