This is the "Home" page of the "Databases A to Z" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Databases A to Z  

Last Updated: Jan 6, 2017 URL: http://libguides.williamwoods.edu/databases Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Log In Information

If you are accessing library databases from OFF-CAMPUS, you will be asked to enter your WWU network username and password.

The username is the the first portion of your WWU email address (the part BEFORE @owls.williamwoods.edu).

If you have been enrolled as a student BEFORE January 2012, your username will be firstname.lastname

Your password should have been provided to you in a Welcome letter from the Help Desk.

If you have any problems logging in, please call the UIT Help Desk at 573-592-4224.

 

Databases A to Z

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

=indicates full-text content

http://images.toolboxforteachers.com/gallery/tony/help-video-icon.jpg= link to video tutorial

Databases: A

  • Academic Search Complete  Icon  Icon
    Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
  • America: History and Life
    America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present.
  • American Doctoral Dissertations
    Includes more than 153,000 theses and dissertations in total, including 70,000 new citations for theses and dissertations from 1902 to the present.
  • Art Source  Icon
    Art Source features articles from over 750 full-text journals, as well as 220 full-text books and an Image Collection of over 63,000 images.

Databases: B

  • Book Collection Nonfiction: Elementary School Edition  Icon
    A research database for school libraries that provides content representing a wide spectrum of works, including popular series from top book publishers. It contains searchable full text for more than 1,300 popular nonfiction books. The database includes high interest titles on animals, weather, holidays, adventure, sports, Native Americans, United States, Canada, biographies, nature, civics and more.
  • Book Collection Nonfiction: Middle School Edition  Icon
    A research database for school libraries that provides content representing a wide spectrum of works, including popular series from top book publishers. It contains searchable full text for more than 3,100 popular nonfiction books. The database includes high interest titles on careers, health, life skills, ethnicity, disabilities, adventure, sports, technology, biographies, history, science, women, civics and more.
  • Book Collection: Nonfiction - High School Edition  Icon
    A research database for school libraries that provides content representing a wide spectrum of works, including popular series from top book publishers. It contains searchable full text for more than 2,450 popular nonfiction books. The database includes high interest titles on careers, health, life skills, ethnicity, disabilities, adventure, sports, technology, biographies, music, science, history, civics and more.
  • Business Source Premier  Icon  Icon
    Business Source® Premier, the industry's most popular business research database, features the full text for more than 2,150 journals. Full text is provided back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.

Databases: C

  • Child Development & Adolescent Studies
    Child Development & Adolescent Studies, produced by NISC, is today's source for references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. Book reviews and abstracts from hundreds of journals and a bibliography of thousands of technical reports, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations covering biomedical and social sciences worldwide are indexed.
  • The Chronicle of Higher Education  Icon
    The Chronicle of Higher Education is the No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators. The Chronicle's Web site features the complete contents of the latest issue; daily news and advice columns; thousands of current job listings; an archive of previously published content; vibrant discussion forums; and career-building tools such as online CV management, salary databases, and more.
  • Communication Abstracts
    Communication Abstracts is a comprehensive source of information about communication-related publications on a world-wide scale.
  • Communication & Mass Media Complete  Icon
    CMMC contains journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. CMMC offers indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected ("priority") coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 770 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 450 journals.
  • Consumer Health Complete  Icon  Icon
    Consumer Health Complete is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. Consumer Health Complete provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. In addition, Consumer Health Complete includes the Clinical Reference System and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs.

Databases: D

  • Directory of Open Access Journals  Icon
    Contains peer-reviewed scientific and scholarly journals in a wide variety of subject areas and languages.
  • Digital Public Library of America
    The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science. DPLA aims to expand this crucial realm of openly available materials, and make those riches more easily discovered and more widely usable and used.

Databases: E

  • EBSCO eBook Collection
  • Education Source  Icon  Icon
    Education Source covers all levels of education-from early childhood to higher education-as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing. Includes: full-text for over 1700 journals, full-text for more than 550 books and monographs, full-text for numerous education-related conference papers, and much more.
  • Educational Administration Abstracts
    Educational Administration Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 190,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.
  • Encyclopedia Britannica Online  Icon  Icon
    Includes the complete Encyclopedia Britannica encyclopedia of 73,000 entries, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, and the Dictionary of Quotations. Includes an Internet directory that includes links to Web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors.
  • Entrepreneurial Studies Source  Icon
    Entrepreneurial Studies Source provides the latest insight into topics relevant to entrepreneurship and small business. This database offers users full text for more than 125 key periodicals, 135 reference books, case studies, thousands of company profiles and over 600 videos with transcripts and related articles from the Harvard Faculty Series and Vator.TV.
  • Environment Complete  Icon
    Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. The database contains full text for more than 680 journals, such as Environment (back to 1975), Ecologist, Conservation Biology, etc.
  • ERIC  Icon
    ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.

Databases: F

  • Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text  Icon
    This database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for over 400 publications and selected coverage of 300, as well as full text for more than 150 journals and books. In addition, Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present and over 36,300 images from the MPTV Image Archive.
  • Films on Demand  Icon
    Films on Demand provides access to over 200,000 video clips and 17,000 full-length videos. The collection is comprehensive and curriculum-focused; from Oscar, Emmy, and Peabody award-winning documentaries to A-list performances spanning the arts.
  • Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia  Icon
    Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. Full text for each record may be easily accessed by double clicking on the topic from the display. The database contains various images, offers brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas.

Databases: H

  • HeritageQuest
    HeritageQuest® Online is a comprehensive treasury of American genealogical sources-rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. The collection consists of U.S. Federal Censuses, genealogy and local history books, Periodical Source Index, Revolutionay War records, Freedman's Bank records, and the LexisNexis U.S. Serial Set.
  • Historical Abstracts
    Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Provides indexing of more than 1,800 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
  • Human Anatomy (Gale Interactive)
    Help students engage with science beyond static text through curriculum-aligned digital content and interactive 3D models designed to supplement course materials. Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy allows students to examine virtual 3D dissections, perform cause-and-effect simulations, and immerse themselves in virtual research.
  • Humanities International Complete  Icon
    Humanities International Complete provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. This database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full-text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.

Databases: L

  • LearningExpress Library  Icon
    Over 300 online academic and licensing practice tests including SAT, ACT, GRE, LSAT, Advanced Placement, PRAXIS, civil service, military, real estate, law enforcement, citizenship, TOEFL, ESL and basic skills for elementary, middle and high school skills improvement and much more. This testing resource also provides instant scoring and customized feedback.
  • Lexis Nexis Academic  Icon  Icon
    Lexis Nexis Academic provides full-text documents from over 6000 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.
  • Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
    Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
  • Literary Reference Center Plus  Icon  Icon
    A comprehensive database that provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time frames.

Databases: M

  • MAS Ultra-School Edition  Icon
    Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines. MAS Ultra - School Edition also provides more than 360 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
  • MasterFILE Premier  Icon
    Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags.
  • MEDLINE
    MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
  • Middle Search Plus  Icon
    Middle Search Plus provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Middle Search Plus also contains 84,774 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and a School Image Collection of photos, maps and flags.

Databases: N

  • Newspaper Source  Icon
    Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.

Databases: O

  • Oxford English Dictionary Online  Icon  Icon
    OED is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words--past and present--from across the English-speaking world. Along with present day meanings, you will also find the history of individual words, and of the language--traced through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.

Databases: P

  • PapersFirst
    Index of papers presented at conferences worldwide from 1993 to present. Covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre. Updated twice a month.
  • Points of View Reference Center  Icon
    Points of View Reference Center™ is a full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides more than 280 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide.
  • Policy Map
    Use PolicyMap to bring sophisticated data, mapping and analytics to fields beyond traditional GIS and planning departments. From public health to sociology and law, students can use PolicyMap to create maps, reports and analyses to enable a deeper understanding of crucial areas in their fields.
  • Primary Search  Icon
    Primary Search provides full text for more than 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.
  • Professional Development Collection  Icon
    Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world.
  • ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global  Icon
    ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Full Text is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. PQDT includes millions of searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format.
  • ProQuest Psychology Journals  Icon
    Full text information from over 630 top psychology and related publications from 1971-present.
  • PsycINFO
    Contains more than two million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology.
  • PubMed
    PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
  • PubMed Central  Icon
    PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

Databases: R

  • Regional Business News  Icon
    overs over 50 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Updated daily.

Databases: S

  • Science Reference Center  Icon  Icon
    Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.
  • SPORTDiscus with Full Text  Icon
    SPORTDiscus™ with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for 550 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus.

Databases: T

  • Teacher Reference Center  Icon
    Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 periodicals. In addition, 96% of journals indexed in the database are peer-reviewed. Topics include: Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education.
  • Topic Search  Icon
    This current events database covers social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms. TOPICsearch contains full text for over 105,000 articles from more than 1,600 diverse sources including periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.

Databases: W

  • Westlaw Next  Icon  Icon
    Westlaw is one of the primary online legal research services for lawyers and legal professionals in the United States. Information resources on Westlaw include more than 40,000 databases of case law, state and federal statutes, administrative codes, newspaper and magazine articles, public records, law journals, law reviews, treatises, legal forms and other information resources.
  • Woods OneSearch
  • World Factbook  Icon
    Country profiles maintained by the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA), including information about geography, people, government, economy, communications, military, maps, flags, and more.
  • World Geography & Culture Online  Icon
    World Geography and Culture Online reference site takes a global approach to facilitate the study of countries, places, peoples, and geography concepts and skills. This comprehensive resource makes it easy to study all aspects of a country-from its geography and physical features to its government, people, and society-providing both facts at a glance and in-depth coverage through country entries, maps, flags, images, statistics, news articles, a gazetteer, and more.
  • WorldCat
    Catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Contains over 62 million records. Updated daily.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip